Back to Trail

St Eunan's College

View on Google Maps

St Eunan's College is an imposing castle-like building, which has been a feature of the educational landscape in Letterkenny since it was opened in 1906. The Cathedral of Saints Eunan and Columba had just been completed in 1901, and Bishop O'Donnell then turned his attention to the development of an educational institution for young men.He commisioned Thomas Francis McNamara, the architect who took over from William Hague during the construction of the cathedral, to design the new school. Fourteen months after the first sod was turned, St Eunan's College opened its doors on the 6th of July 1906.

Click on Learn more below to watch the video of former teacher Edward Harvey giving a tour of the college, explaining its history and recounting stories and anecdotes relating to this historic institution.

Check out the video of former teacher Edward Harvey giving us a tour of the building, along with some fascinating insights into the history and stories associated with St Eunan's College.

A photo of St Eunan's College, taken not long after it opened in 1906

Back to Trail